top of page

September Goals - The Month Ahead


So the first thing to do today is review the month of August, the goals that I set and my progress against them. This does not make pleasant reading! Basically every goal that I set myself for the month I failed. That being said, anyone who has read my previous entries will realise that there were some extenuating factors. Basically I spent 10 days without a bike due to a catastrophic mechanical failure (see here)

Now, I am trying not to be too hard on myself. If you have no access to cycling for one third of the month then it will be incredibly hard to still reach your targets. However I am disappointed that I made little effort to do any other form of exercise. I still had the option to go running or go to the gym, but instead I wallowed at home in self pity and did very little. I am acutely aware that during this period I was frustrated and miserable and an unpleasant person to be around. Therefore I am determined that if this situation is to repeat itself (please god no!!) that I will handle it much more pragmatically. I need to recognise any dip in my mood and mental health and get myself active and do whatever it takes to lift myself.

Anyway that's enough reflection and dwelling on things I can't change. It's time to look ahead and focus on September!

I have decided that the first thing to do is reset my goals for last month and to focus on getting them achieved. I had originally planned to add in a little running, but I think that with the time I have had off, I am happy to leave that for October. So to recap I went to Strava and entered the September Climbing and Distance Challenges and the Gran Fondo.

I am determined that this month won't be another write off and for that reason I am planning to knock the Gran Fondo on the head nice and early. I am off work today and tomorrow, therefore I will be out for a light spin today and then aim for around 90 miles on Friday 2nd September. If I can manage this then it will give me the confidence and motivation to get back on track and make September a strong month.

I think it is important that when you realise things have not gone your way you do not become consumed with disappointment or self doubt. It is certainly easier said than done, but review it, learn what you can, understand and make peace with it and then plan a fresh move forwards.

Remember it is not about how hard you can hit, but how hard you can be hit and keep moving forward.

I am also keen to start giving some thought to nutrition. I am not about to start dieting, but I will be trying to cut down the unhealthy snacks and junk food. This is with a view to starting a full food diary as of October. I will be working on increasing my protein consumption and eating more fruit and vegetables. Nothing too drastic but a move in the right direction.

I also have the Tour of Britain and The Cycle Show to look forward to. It's going to be a great month!

Enjoy it and let me know what you are up to.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Twitter Classic
  • White Instagram Icon
  • Facebook Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page