top of page

Ego vs Legs - I Need To Grow Up!


Picture the scene - you are enjoying a pleasant summer ride home from work. It's been a stressful day so you

appreciate the chance to set a decent pace and get rid of some aggression and put some miles in your legs at the same time. The promised rain has held off, traffic is light and you feel strong. What I consider cycling nirvana.

Then from out of nowhere a blur on your right hand side as another cyclist comes flying past. His friendly call of "Evening" cuts like a knife as there is no hint of him putting in any effort. His speed and ease are mocking your every turn of the pedal.

This happened to me just last night. I was so shocked I replied "Good mor........errr evening". It didn't matter though, by the time I had bumbled my response he was half a dozen bike lengths in front and probably laughing to himself about both my confusion and his superior fitness.

Please understand that my shock was not caused by the belief that I am such a strong rider no one could manage to pass. It was more to do with the fact that it was 11pm on a quiet country road and I was sitting around 20mph. There was more indignation caused by the speed with which he was disappearing into the distance, and the fact he looked like he was on a light spin round the block.

What happened next I am really not proud about. Instinctively I dropped a gear, jumped out of the saddle and started the chase. This was not a useful interval weaved into a well managed training plan. It was pure unadulterated ego. My primitive brain saw a rival and instinctively decided to bury him. Incidentally as it happened my body and legs specifically were not ok with this plan!

Bear in mind that this was a commute home, I had been working for ten hours on my feet and was both mentally and physically exhausted. I also had to be up early in the morning and needed my legs in relatively good shape (the cycling excuses are already coming thick and fast!)

To my dismay he was going the same way as me so for five excruciating miles I pounded the pedals trying to keep on terms with him. Periodically he looked round bemused to see a red faced and panting lunatic with a rucksack on just far enough behind to fail to benefit from his slipstream. I will maintain when asked that I was deliberately holding back in order to avoid being accused of wheel sucking.....

This morning I had to get the turbo out to do a warm down and loosen up my legs, the commute this afternoon is going to hurt and it is all my own fault. I am a grown man, I should be able to control my ego and make sensible and rational decisions, sadly it seems, this is not the case.

While chasing I had the following thoughts:

"I have my work clothes and gear in my backpack, I reckon that's at least 10kg. That's more than his entire bike weighs"

"I bet he has just bought a new set of wheels, he is out for a quick blast before bed, he probably isn't even going 10 miles"

"I bet he isn't exhausted after a day at work"

I was discussing all of this over coffee this morning with an occasional training partner. He laughed and said I should go check Fly-bys on Strava. I had no idea this existed but apparently it will show other riders if they use Strava as they pass you on your ride. You can then go and digitally stalk them, finding out how far they rode, what their average speed was, how much cycling a week one has to do to be that fast and effortless. Sounds like a brilliant idea.

Sadly though it didn't work out for me. The 60 miles he had done that night put my 14 mile commute to shame. His average of 25mph is something I can only dream of and our comparison of weekly distance was decidedly lop-sided. I felt deflated, ashamed and lethargic. However on the upside I now know where he lives, his regular training route and when he goes out each week. I am off to hide in a bush to wait for him to pass, jump out and smash in a sprint to his front door...........

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Twitter Classic
  • White Instagram Icon
  • Facebook Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page